Located in front of the Visitors Center and dedicated on November 11, 2008, the statue entitled “The Lion of Cantigny” honors the battle held at Cantigny, France in WWI. In July 1919, after his return from service in WWI, Colonel Robert R. McCormick named this estate “Cantigny” to honor the first American battle of that war, at the village of Cantigny, in Picardy, France in May 1918. Colonel McCormick fought there as Commander. This doughboy represents the 28th Infantry Regiment, 1st Division, which bore the brunt of the fighting. The regiment is known to this day as the “Black Lions” for the heraldic crest of Picardy. The Cantigny First Division Foundation placed an identical statue in Cantigny, France, on May 28, 2008. This keychain depicts the iconic statue in silver plate and comes packaged with a brief introduction to both the First Division Museum and Cantigny Park.